Home » Life » If only humpty dumpty had a sister

If only humpty dumpty had a sister

I don’t think humpty dumpty had a sister. Because if he did, I’m pretty sure she would have put him “back together again”.  Sitting in a coffee shop this weekend, in a foreign country with a foreign friend, reminded me once again of the power of the sisterhood.

And before all the cavemen start rolling their eyes and shaking their heads, this is not another piece about superwoman saving the world, because we all know she can. And it’s also not about the ra ra Lady Gaga in-your-face force of nature kind of power, because we all know that she is.  No, it’s about the intuitive, gentle and delicate kind of power.

It is the unconditional support, lending of an ear, what can I do for you, GIVING, kind of power that is found in the sisterhood.

And so it is, when superwoman’s mask has been ripped off and her pain exposed that she turns to the sisterhood. And so it is, when Lady Gaga’s stage has been ripped bare and her vulnerability exposed, that she turns to the sisterhood. And so it was, when I, like humpty dumpty, had a great fall, turned to the sisterhood, because all the kings’ horses and all the kings’ men couldn’t put me back together again.

And only the sisterhood can provide that femaleness that it takes to put a thousand shattered and fragile pieces back together again. And only a sister can look into your eyes as you tear up and FEEL your pain. And only a sister can UNDERSTAND you when the cavemen can’t.

And now I can hear my caveman in the background saying this is getting too soppy. So let me just say to MY sister and my sister’s, thank you for doing a better job than all the kings’ horses and all the kings’ men.  Thank you for listening, for the crying, for the advice but most importantly for the LOVE. And to my sisters in Korea, thank you for keeping me out of a straight jacket in a country where crazy is as crazy does.

As a side note, to my caveman, because we must give credit where credit is due, thank you too. For caring in your own special cavemanish way.

3 thoughts on “If only humpty dumpty had a sister

What do you think?

