Home » Travel » L&LtakeNYC: the Beginning

L&LtakeNYC: the Beginning

I suppose it’s not a good idea to feel almost suicidal when you’re standing in a queue at US immigration. But after crossing 3 time zones spanning 24 hours of travel, a 2 hour wait at US immigration had me teetering over the edge.

I wanted to have a big fat bitch fit, but I couldn’t. Because in order to get that last stamp of approval to enter the ‘land of the free and home of the brave’ you have to be appear to be on ‘happy pills’. You know, calm and relaxed and s t a b l e.

Clearly I showed great restraint because after a question or two, I was in.

In a taxi, in a different mindset and heading into the clutches of an old flame.

As the taxi passed the toll gate and the night lights of Manhattan flickered into view, my pulse skipped and my heart beat.

New York New York, ‘where the streets make you feel brand new and the lights inspire you’.

Our first meeting was in 2000. I was young, hesitant and inexperienced. The city was so daunting back then. The lights so bright. Too bright for a scared girl like me.

We took a while to connect and our love affair was slow to start. But start it did.

From Central Park to 5th Ave and onto Downtown. From Brooklyn to Harlem to Queens and onto the Bronx. I was enchanted. Intrigued. And infatuated.

I always felt like there wasn’t enough time to fully explore the possibilities of a relationship. Like we had unfinished business.

In 2006 I was lured back. This time for a friend’s wedding.

But the season had changed. I had changed.

The winds were icy and so was I.

Not exactly ideal conditions for rekindling a romance. Still, we made it work as best we could. Stolen moments for Macy’s, walking over Brooklyn Bridge and eating Mexican.

I left with mixed feelings. Was this love or not?

Well, in 2012, I find myself back. Back in the arms of my old flame. And boy does It. Feel. Good.

I’m older, surer, and more experienced. I’m fully ready to commit, to explore and to conquer.

I’ve gone bike riding in Central Park, had a taste of Shake Shack, taken a browse through Eataly, bought fruit from Union Square Farmer’s market, munched on cup cakes from Baked by Mellisa, caught a glimpse of Bergdorf’s, found a Starbucks hangout, a place to run on the East river, eyed out a Waffles & Dinges and made a long list of places to eat, things to do and people to see.

I already know that I’m in love. It’s time to find out just how much. Over the next few weeks this blog will cover my love affair with this City.

And the best part is that I get to do it with my best friend and sister, Leanne Tee. Our blog series, as you may have figured out by now, is called, L&LtakeNYC.

I hope you have your popcorn ready.

Will it end in hot sex or a hot mess?

4 thoughts on “L&LtakeNYC: the Beginning

  1. ahh, this should be good :)I feel like i’ve just read an intro to a REALLY good book. hope you have a wonderful time, how long are you there for?

What do you think?

